Fort worth nps 2017
Fwrnp avatar
Fort Worth Region Nurse Practitioners

Important TNP Update

Posted over 6 years ago by Shelagh Larson

Dear Members,

Although it is extremely difficult to write this letter to you, it is important that all TNP parties stay informed on all actions in order for our organization to continue to move forward. On behalf of the Board of Directors I am writing to tell you that on August 11, 2012 the TNP Board members voted a “no confidence” to remove Stan Harmon from the President Elect position.  Stan has spent a tremendous amount of time and effort to improve the profession.  The board appreciates his dedication, but thought that a different leader was needed. The TNP Board of Directors gave this decision much thought and did not take the decision lightly.  TNP did seek input from our legal counsel and this decision was in compliance with the TNP Bylaws. 

Due to this decision, the nominating committee recommended that I remain as President for my last year of service (instead of serving as past president on the board). I agreed to do so because of my commitment to this organization and to maintain continuity with what we have started.  TNP is an extremely resilient organization that will not only survive our challenges but become stronger because of them.  

It is an exciting time with the legislative session nearing and I promise to continue to work on behalf of all nurse practitioners in Texas.  We are not an organization about one member but about an entire team of individuals who work toward a common goal.  

With this transition we will need to hold a special election to fill the President Elect position.  We are seeking individuals that are interested in running for this office.  The appropriate candidate must have served on the Board previously according to our bylaws.  If you are interested in completing a nomination form, please click on the following link or contact Emily Eastin at by August 20, 2012. We will plan to send the ballot to all voting members by August 23, 2012 with voting completed by August 31, 2012. 

If you have questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at Thank all of you for what you do every day for our profession.  

Sandy McCoy, RN, MSN, FNP-BC
President-Texas Nurse Practitioners